Earthsea: The First Four Books: A Wizard of Earthsea ‘The Tombs of Atuan’ ‘The Farthest Shore’ ‘Tehanu’ (Paperback) Ursula K. Le Guin (author)


Ged is but a goatherd on the island of Gont when he comes by his strange powers over nature. Sent to the School of Wizards on Roke, he learns the true way of magic and proves himself a powerful magician. And it is as the Archmage Sparrowhawk that he helps the High Priestess Tenar escape the labyrinth of darkness.

But over the years, Ged witnesses true magic and the ancient ways submit to the forces of evil and death. Will he too succumb, or can he hold them back?

Few writers in any genre can claim to have had the range and influence of Ursula K. Le Guin. Championed for her ground-breaking works of science fiction and fantasy, Le Guin’s work was diverse and wide-ranging, encompassing more than short stories, novels, poetry, essays, books for children and works of translation.

She remains best-known for her landmark series Earthsea – a wise and stunning saga of a world where wizards and dragons mutually coexist – which gradually evolved to become a singular touchstone of imaginative fantasy. Simultaneously, Le Guin forged an enviable reputation within science fiction, hoovering up prizes, including numerous Nebula and Hugo Awards, and establishing a vital feminist foothold in a traditionally male-dominated discipline. Her 1969 novel The Left Hand of Darkness, set on a genderless planet banked in ice, is regarded to this day as a profound exploration of imagination and our understanding of society and identity.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241956878
Number of pages: 704
Weight: 481 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm

1 in stock


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Earthsea: The First Four Books: A Wizard of Earthsea ‘The Tombs of Atuan’ ‘The Farthest Shore’ ‘Tehanu’ (Paperback) Ursula K. Le Guin (author)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *